The 2017 Kentucky Derby start time (post time) is 6:34pm ET on Saturday, May 6, 2017 from Churchill Downs (Louisville, Kentucky).

Kentucky Derby TV Schedule:

SPECIAL: You can use coupon code DERBY and get any daily package for free today at WagerTalk (click here to access all the packages available)!

11AM ET May 3: Post Position Draw Live on Kentucky Derby Facebook & Twitter
4-6PM ET May 4: Derby Access on NBC Sports Network
12-6:20PM ET May 5: Kentucky Oaks 143 on NBC Sports Network
12-2:30PM ET May 6: Kentucky Derby Undercard on NBC Sports Network
2:30-7:20PM ET: May 6 Kentucky Derby 143 (6:34pm ET Kentucky Derby Post Time) NBC

Churchill Downs Details:

Location: Churchill Downs; Louisville, Kentucky, U.S.
Track: Left-handed
Distance: 1 1⁄4 miles (10 furlongs; 2,012 m)
Purse: US$2 million; 1st: $1,425,000
Record: 1: 59 2⁄5 secs, Secretariat (1973)
Qualification: 3-year-old

List of Triple Crown Winners (Win the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes) 1919 Sir Barton, 1930 Gallant Fox, 1935 Omaha, 1937 War Admiral, 1941 Whirlaway, 1943 Count Fleet, 1946 Assault, 1948 Citation, 1973 Secretariat, 1977 Seattle Slew, 1978 Affirmed and 2015 American Pharoah.

Kentucky Derby Facts:

* The Road to the Kentucky Derby is made up 35 total races (19 races for the Kentucky Derby Prep Season and 16 races for the Kentucky Derby Championship Season)
* Biggest “longshot” was in 1913 when Donerail paid out at 91.45-1 odds.
* Secretariat (1973) has the record winning time at 1:59 2⁄5 secs
* “Official” Mint Julip at the Kentucky Derby is made with “Early Times” whiskey.
* The phrase “Run for the Roses” was coined by New York sports columnist Bill Corum.

Kentucky Derby Betting Preview Video: Contenders

Direct from Las Vegas, WagerTalk TV host Marco D’Angelo (@MarcoInVegas) and special guest Matthew Holt (@MatthewHoltVP) Vice President of Business Development from CG look at the 2017 Kentucky Derby and breakdown the contenders.

Below you will find 2017 Kentucky Derby post positions:

1. Lookin At Lee, C. Lanerie, 20-1
2. Thunder Snow, C. Soumillon, 20-1
3. Fast And Accurate, C. Hill, 50-1
4. Untrapped, R. Santana, 30-1
5. Always Dreaming, J. Velazquez, 5-1
6. State of Honor, J. Lezcano, 30-1
7. Girvin, M. Smith, 15-1
8. Hence, F. Geroux, 15-1
9. Irap, M. Gutierrez, 20-1
10. Gunnevera, J. Castellano, 15-1
11. Battle of Midway, F. Prat, 30-1
12. Sonneteer, K. Desormeaux, 50-1
13. J Boys Echo, L. Saez, 20-1
14. Classic Empire, J. Leparoux, 4-1
15. McCraken, B. Hernandez, 5-1
16. Tapwrit, J. Ortiz, 20-1
17. Irish War Cry, R. Maragh, 6-1
18. Gormley, V. Espinoza, 15-1
19. Practical Joke, J. Rosario, 20-1
20. Patch, T. Gaffalione, 30-1
AE – Royal Mo, G. Stevens, 20-1
AE – Master Plan, J. Velazquez, 50-1

*Kentucky Derby odds  updated here.

Johnny Detroit

Professional sports handicapper and gambler that has been involved with sports betting for 15+ years.

Johnny Detroit has 792 posts and counting. See all posts by Johnny Detroit

Johnny Detroit

Leave a Reply