NASCAR 2016 Sprint Cup Series Championship Futures

Veteran NASCAR driver Denny Hamlin took the checkered flag this past weekend winning the Cheez-It 355 at the Glen Sprint Cup Series race at Watkins Glen International. Joey Logano finished 2nd and rounding out the Top-3 was Brad Keselowski taking the bronze medal.  There were a handful of surprising and bizarre instances in the event.  Legendary Jimmie Johnson finished last (40th) in a Sprint Cup race for the first time in his career after being involved in a four-car wreck on lap 53.  Other news from the summer weekend drive was that Danica Patrick led 11 laps, a career best for a single Sprint Cup event, exceeding the seven laps she had led on two occasions at Talladega.

There were 9 lead changes in the Cheez-It 355 that involved 8 drivers and all together on Sunday afternoon there were 8 cautions for 20 yellow flag laps. The average speed for winning driver Hamlin was 89.513 mph.

The standings for the Chase —  the NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship – saw more soap opera drama added to an already crazy 2016 season. Hamlin won for the first time since the season-opening Daytona 500 and with 22 of 26 races complete in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular season there are 16 drivers who currently Chase eligible.

Currently Chase eligible:

  • Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski, four wins each
  • Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, and Jimmie Johnson, two wins each
  • Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart, Kurt Busch, Martin Truex Jr. and Joey Logano, one win each

The five winless drivers who right now are Chase eligible are: 

  • Ryan Newman
  • Chase Elliott
  • Austin Dillon
  • Jamie McMurray
  • Kyle Larson


The SuperBook of Las Vegas, Westgate, has updated their 2016 SPRINT Cup Series Championship Odds to Win.




Leave a Comment